Semper Fidelis - Semper Discentes

Bugeyes

In Entomology-General on April 2, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Okay, Folks. I guess that, if you’re wasting your time reading this drivel, you probably have some interests in some, if not all, types of insects, so the following question wouldn’t apply to you.

Walk up to your spouse, significant other, mamma, daddy, brother, sister, or even some poor moke on the street, and ask, “How many bugs have you seen today?”

They will, of course, look at you strangely.  They will, almost certainly, reply, “None” (or at least a VERY small number).  That, Gentle Reader, was ME, back in the day, before I became a rabid Bug Hunter.  I rarely saw bugs, even though they were all around me.  (One exception was the time I saw a cricket crawling across the kitchen floor while my wife was washing dishes at the sink.  I quickly scooped it up, sneaked across the room, and stuffed it down the back of her underwear.  Maybe that’s part of the reason why she’s my ex-wife?!)  But I digress.

I enjoy sitting out in my 20-acre “yard”, comfortably ensconced in a canvas chair, adult beverage in hand, and bugnet conveniently at hand.  It only takes me a few minutes to “put my bugeyes on”.  They’re EVERYWHERE!!!

If you, like me, grew up in the sixties and seventies, you might prefer calling this state “becoming one with the bugs”.  Chemical enhancement of this condition is NOT recommended.  I’ve noticed that after several hours of Anheuser-Busch Electrolyte Replacement Fluid, my bugeyes suffer greatly.

My loves are dragonflies, and I like butterflies a bit.  My wife (not the aforementioned lady) gets a bit frustrated that I cannot keep my eyes on her during a conversation, with my eyeballs darting here and there.  “Oooooooh, cool bug!”  “Oooooooh, that’s a Great spangled fritillary.  I just learned that one today!”  “Harrumph, boring old hymenopteran!”  “Get your buggy butt away from me, Loathsome Dipteran!!!” 

“Ahhhhh.  Dragonfly.  Here, Buggy, Buggy, Buggy!!!  Come to Poppa!”

I think we, as Bug Nerds, owe it to the Youth of Today to encourage them to keep their Bugeyes on as much of the time as possible.  There’s an awful lot going on out there that most folks never see.  There are worse ways to spend your time.

“Oooooh.  An ant.  I wonder if he’s got his Peopleeyes on?!?”

Leave a Reply

